Spitzit’s House

Where serious topics come to relax

Random Acts of Kindness

I have not written here in some time.  I had become busy with life, distracted by the bustle and and the noise of other things I considered more important.  But like my journals as a kid, this is where I turn to…my forum when something affects me or weighs heavy on my soul.

This world we are living in, if you are paying any kind of attention to the media, whether it be traditional or social media, it seems is a world filled with hate, radicalism, evil, and random acts of violence.  It is truly astounding as many of these stories are quite real and horrific while others are manipulations of the media; but they all resonate throughout our society to the point that it is overwhelming and almost impossible to discern what is true and what is not…so it is just easier to believe it all, right?

“It’s interesting when people die, give us dirty laundry”

The laundry basket runneth over, and it seems bottomless as it continues to spew more and more dirty laundry into our world until we are literally consumed by it, obsessed with it, controlled by it.   However,  the question that has been bouncing around in my head for weeks now is how to combat this overwhelming flow of negativity.   That really is the big question isn’t it?  And if you ask, a hundred different people will give you a hundred different solutions…for example (and not in any particular order):

Pray, buy more ammo, buy more guns, blame it on a political party, ban weapons, ban use of certain words or phrases, ban certain religions, ban images, ban certain flags, ban certain races, and the list of ridiculousness goes on and on.

Personally, I think it may be more simple than that.  There will always be mean spirited people, rude people, annoying people, and just bad people in general.   There always has been and always will be.  But I refuse to be controlled or concede that the world has become this shit storm of evil and hate the media portrays that is hell bent on turning human against human.   There is more than a shred of humanity left in this dude and I will be damned if I will let this jedi mind trick be put on me.

“Random Acts of Kindness”

The random acts of violence are committed by real people.  They are everywhere, in all walks of sociaty, and the truly scary part is that many of them look just as normal as your everyday Joe.  The important fact, is that we outnumber them.  We outnumber them in a huge way…so why are we being overwhelmed by them?  I have this theory that our own self-absortion with our own first world lives has led us astray from our fellow man as we have been led in a direction where we consume every piece of information put in front of us as if it is the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.  Call it selfishness, shallowness, call it first world problems, call it whatever you want.   I am as guilty as the next guy…

  • My iPhone fell in the lake, I am so screwed.
  • My lawn is dying because my city is on a water restriction, this absolutely sucks!
  • My damn Lexus as a flat tire at the worst possible time, late for a meeting
  • My vacation was ruined because of problems at work, UUGH
  • My air conditioning went out and its hundred degrees outside.  My life sucks!
  • My girlfriend broke up with me and took the dog and all my CDs. Just kill me now!
  • My stock just took a dive and a lost a ton of money, I am ruined!

I don’t care what your religion is, your race, your politics, your size, your height, or your sexuality…We are absorbed in our spoiled lives and have let the dirty laundry get the best of us.   The only way I know to fight the bad is with the good. Therefore, my strategy has become fighting the random of acts of violence with random acts of kindness.

It seems ridiculous, I know but it is the oldest battle in the world, good vs evil.   It isn’s an original thought at all, and I am just one dorky little guy and my name  isn’t Clark Kent, but I really believe in my heart that true human compassion, as lost as it may be, still far outnumbers the bad.  And the only right way to stem a burning shit-show of evil and violence is with a massive overwhelming sunami of kindness.   I am not remotely suggesting that we start sending flowers and poetry to ISIS or other evil violent people.  I am still very much on the side of bad people getting whats coming to them in a big way.

The real battle is in the media and the minds of the people.  I would love to start seeing random acts of kindness points in social media and on the streets outnumbering the violence points.  And for clarification, random acts of kindness are exactly that…they are random, generally unplanned and untargeted. That is what makes it special and real.  Putting money in the dish at church, donating to your favorite charity, raising money for a foundation are all great and valuable things to do, but they aren’t random.

To walk up to some homeless person on the street and give them a bag of food or a $20 bill and tell them that they do matter, that is random. To pay for your groceries at the store and then pay for the groceries of the poor little lady in dirty clothes behind you in line, that is random.  To look those people in the eye, and let them know that you notice them, that they matter and  are not forgotten or invisible in this world,…well it can be life changing for them and for you.   It can be world changing if we were all doing it.

The reality is, most of us won’t.  Most of us remain too consumed with our lives and sensationalized media, while others simply do not believe in helping less fortunate humans due to the belief that they are all “lazy, drug addicts, alcoholics, mentally ill, dangerous, etc”, and that giving to them only perpetuates there expectation that everything should be given to them for free.  In fact, often times this may be true in some cases, but it doesnt matter at all.

Random acts of kindness are random.  You do not profile, you do not judge, you just act with dignity, a pure heart and kindness.

I am sticking to that.

July 10, 2015 - Posted by | Everything Else | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

